Your Workspace comes with 6 default Workflow States that fall into the 3 Workflow State types (Unstarted, Started, and Done). You can keep these defaultWorkflow States as is, edit them, or delete them and add your own -- it’s up to you.

Clubhouse_Workflow_States.png

The default state is Unscheduled, which means any story created without a state (for example, by using our API) will be assigned to that state by default.

To change which workflow state is the default, click on the drop down menu (which is found in the default workflow state description, above the Create New State button), then select your new default workflow state. 

Screen_Shot_2019-09-25_at_11.55.08_PM.png

Also by default, if a Story is moved into a started state without an Owner, we assign the current user as Owner, but you can toggle this setting for a specific Workflow by checking or unchecking Auto-assign Story owner.

Some ideas to get you started:

  • Add a new Workflow State under the "Unstarted" category named "Needs discussion" 
  • Add a new Workflow State under the "Started" category named "Ready for QA" 
Creating a new Workflow State

To create a new workflow state, go to Settings > Workflows States and click on the Create a New State button.

Clubhouse_Create_New_Workflow_State.png

 Give your new workflow state a name and select the appropriate workflow state type. Describe the workflow state for your team members if you like, and add a Commit Verb that can be used to move the Story forward to this state when you make GitHub commits only. Please note, Commit Verbs will only advance a Story forward through workflow states. They cannot be used to move a Story backwards through states.


Once you’re finished, click Create State.

Editing a Workflow State

To edit an existing workflow state, go to Settings > Workspace Features > Workflows, find the workflow state you’d like to edit, and click on the state’s name.

Edit the fields you want to change, then click the Save Changes button.

Clubhouse_Edit_Workflow_State.png

Moving a Workflow State

If you need to move a workflow state into a different type (for instance, moving a Ready for Development workflow state from the Unstarted to the Started type), you can do that by going to Settings > Workspace Features > Workflows.

Find the hamburger icon next to the workflow state you want to move (next to the magnifying glass icon).

Clubhouse_Move_Workflow_State.png

To move the workflow state, click and hold the hamburger icon, then drag and drop the workflow state into its new workflow type.

Only workflow states with no active Stories in them can be moved. If your workflow state has Stories in it, you'll have to temporarily move those Stories into a different workflow state, move the workflow state, and re-assign the Stories back into the workflow state when the move is complete.

Deleting a Workflow State

To delete a workflow state, go to Settings > Workspace Features > Workflows, find the workflow state you’d like to delete, and click on the state’s name.

In the menu that opens, click on the garbage can icon below the description field. You’ll be asked to confirm that you want to delete the workflow state; if so, click OK. 

The workflow state will disappear from the state list, and you’ll see a success message pop up in the lower right confirming that the workflow state was deleted.

Delete_Workflow_State.gif 

Having Trouble Deleting a Workflow State?

Check to be sure there are no Stories (archived or otherwise), or Story Templates, in the State you're trying to delete
  • If you click into a Workflow State and the little trash can is greyed out/not clickable, check the upper right corner for the magnifying glass icon:

Delete_Workflow_State_trouble.png

  • The number by the magnifying glass shows the number of Stories or Story Templates left in this State - it must be at 0 to move forward with the deletion
  • Click the magnifying glass to be brought to the Search page with search operators pre-selected to surface the Stories in this Workflow State 
    • From there, either Delete the Stories or change them to a different Workflow State.
    • If for some reason this auto-populated Search is giving you trouble, check out this article on Working with Stories.

To check if there are Story Templates in this Workflow State that need to be deleted, go under Settings to Manage Templates

delete_workflow_state_trouble_2.png

Make sure it's not your default State -  you can't delete that

Change the default State in your Workspace in the Dropdown menu up top in the Workflow Settings window

delete_workflow_default.png

Make sure it's not the only State in one of the three basic "types" - Unstarted, Started, and Done

delete_workflow_state_only_type.png