Organization

Setting Up Your Organization's Workflow

Your workflow can be as simple or as complicated as you want. As long as there is a workflow state in each state type (Unstarted, Started, and Done), we can accurately measure cycle time for you.

Your organization has 7 workflow states by default that fall into the 3 Workflow State types (To Do, Doing, and Done).

The default state is Backlog, which means any story created without a state (for example, by using our API) will be assigned to that state by default.

To add a workflow state:

  1. Click the "Add a new state" button
  2. Give your new workflow state a name and select the appropriate workflow state type.
  3. Include a description if you wish and add a Commit Verb that can be used to move the story to this state when you make GitHub commits. 
  4. Once complete, click Save New State.

To edit a workflow state:

  1. Click on that workflow state
  2. Edit the fields you wish to change
  3. Click the Save Changes button.

Your workflow state will be edited.

To move a workflow state: 

You can also rearrange your Workflow states by dragging them by the "handle" next to the Edit button.

 

Only workflow states with no active Stories in them can be moved. If your workflow state has Stories in it, you'll have to temporarily move those Stories into a different workflow state, and re-assign them once your workflow state has been moved. 

If you wish to delete a workflow state:

  1. Click on that workflow state
  2. Click on the garbage can icon
  3. Click OK on the warning message.
Your workflow state will be deleted. 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk