Workspaces

Setting Up Your Workspace's Workflow

In this article, we'll cover:

The Basics of Workflows

Workflows are set by Team, and can be as simple or as complicated as you want. As long as there is a workflow state in each state type, we can accurately measure cycle time for you.

Your Workspace has 6 workflow states by default that fall into the 3 Workflow State types (Unstarted, Started, and Done).

Screen_Shot_2018-01-29_at_2.14.17_PM.png

^top

The Default Workflow State

The default state is Unscheduled, which means any story created without a state (for example, by using our API) will be assigned to that state by default.

You can choose which workflow state is the default by clicking on the drop down menu (which is found in the default workflow state description, above the Create New State button), then selecting your new default workflow state:

Default_Workflow_Settings.png

Also by default, if a Story is moved into a started state without an owner, we assign the current user as owner, but you can toggle this setting for a specific Team by checking or unchecking `Auto-assign Story owner.`

^top

Creating a Workflow State

create_a_new_state.png

  1. Click the "Create a New State" button
  2. Give your new workflow state a name and select the appropriate workflow state type.
  3. Include a description if you wish and add a Commit Verb that can be used to move the story to this state when you make GitHub commits. 
  4. Once complete, click Create State. 

create_new_state_form.png

^top

Editing a Workflow State

  1. Click on that workflow state
  2. Edit the fields you wish to change
  3. Click the Save Changes button.

edit_state_form.png

Your workflow state will be edited.

^top

Moving a Workflow State 

You can also rearrange your Workflow states by dragging them by the "handle" next to the magnifying glass icon.

Screen_Shot_2018-01-29_at_1.58.27_PM.png

Only workflow states with no active Stories in them can be moved. If your workflow state has Stories in it, you'll have to temporarily move those Stories into a different workflow state, and re-assign them once your workflow state has been moved.

^top

Deleting a Workflow State

  1. Click on that workflow state
  2. Click on the garbage can icon
  3. Click OK on the warning message.

Deleting_a_Workflow_State.gif

Your workflow state will be deleted.  

If you find you still have archived Stories in the workflow state, you can follow these instructions to access and delete archived Stories: Viewing/Editing Archived Stories.
 
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk