A Workflow is the process through which Stories move, from creation to completion. Workflows are set by you, and can be customized to be as simple or as complicated as you want. As long as there is a Workflow state in each state type, we can accurately measure cycle time for you. 

At creation, your Workspace comes with 6 default workflow states that fall into the 3 Workflow State types (Unstarted, Started, and Done). You can keep these default workflow states as is, edit them, or delete them and add your own -- it’s up to you!

If your Workspace has multiple Workflows, you will find a Workflow switcher at the top of the left sidebar on the Stories page. Select the Workflow you wish to view. You will also see the Projects in the sidebar updated to those belonging to the current Workflow selected, as well as the Workflow States in the main area.

Screen_Shot_2020-08-19_at_2.57.53_PM.png

Epics can be filtered down to just the Projects on that board by hovering over the Epics menu and selecting ... and then pressing Only Epics from Selected Projects

Creating a New Workflow

You can create a new Workflow by navigating to Settings > Workflows and using the Workflow wizard. 

Screen_Shot_2019-07-19_at_3.46.16_PM.png

  1. Name and describe your new Workflow  - Assign a name to your Workflow - a description is optional.
  2. Move over existing Projects (optional) - If your new Workflow is going to be a scenario where you move an existing Project, you will want to select Yes. It is only possible to move Projects between Workflows that have the exact same Workflow. If you don't want to move over any Projects, you can click "No" to move on to Step 3b.
  3. Select Project(s) to move (optional)
  4. Select Workflow - If you do not choose to move over an existing Project, you will need to select a default Workflow. You can select from our Standard Workflow (which is our sensible default for software development teams), Simple (which is the minimum Workflow for the system), or you can select a workflow from a pre-existing Workflow. 
  5. Create your Workflow 

Once you select the Create Workflow button, you will be brought back to the main screen where you can edit the name, description, and Workflows of any of your Workflows.

You can also move Projects between Workflows from this admin area provided the two Workflows have the same Workflow.

For more information on moving Projects between Workflows please see our Moving Projects and Stories Between Workflows article. 

Screen_Shot_2019-07-19_at_3.55.32_PM.png

If you choose not to move any Projects, you will need to create at least one Project in order to begin using your new Workflows board. Once your Project is set up, you can view your Workflow board by switching to it on the Stories page using the Workflow switcher.

Screen_Shot_2019-07-19_at_3.57.15_PM.png

Deleting a Workflow

A Workflow contains a group of Projects where all the Stories in those Projects share the same workflow. Every newly-created Clubhouse Workspace has one default Workflow that can be customized out of the box, and adding additional Workflows is optional.

To delete a Workflow, first you'll need to either delete or move its Projects into another Workflow (even if the Projects have been archived, they can't remain in the Workflow you wish to delete).

To check whether any Projects are a part of a particular Workflow, go to Settings > Workspace Features > Workflows.

Screen_Shot_2019-09-25_at_11.37.42_PM.png

In the Workflows Settings menu, Click Edit Team/Projects for the Team you need to delete. This menu will show any remaining Projects in the Team (including those that have been archived). You'll need to either delete or move these Projects before proceeding.

Once all Projects have been moved or deleted, click on the trash can icon next to the Update Team button. You'll be asked to confirm that you want to delete the Team; if so, click OK.

Screen_Shot_2019-09-25_at_11.39.08_PM.png

You'll see a pop-up confirming that the Workflow has been deleted, and it will disappear from the Teams list.